Iceland: The Puffin Explorers Series

Inspired by the beauty of Iceland and the amazing puffins living there while assisting my son with a destination wedding, these books are filled with original photography and fun facts that are sure to mesmerize young readers.

Book 1


My puffin friend Árni is about to leave his burrow for a four-year adventure out at sea. But Árni doesn’t want to go–at least not today. You see, he wants one more day to play with his best friend Birta, but she can’t be found. While Árni searches Iceland for Birta, his mother and father are searching for him. Little pufflings shouldn’t be wandering about all alone!

Would you like to see if Árni finds Birta and Árni’s parents find him before it’s too late? Come along on Árni’s big adventure as he explores Iceland, the land of fire and ice!

In this first book of the Iceland: The Puffin Explorers series, readers are introduced to puffins and where they live. Educational fun facts are placed throughout the book to share interesting things about Iceland and puffins, like how puffins are also called Clowns of the Sea because of how funny they look walking, flying, and landing.

Book 2

Puffins off the Beaten Path

Two puffin friends are exploring Iceland looking for two little lost lambs, but on the way, they discover their predator the Artic Fox and other animals in Iceland too difficult to ignore. The puffin parents are searching for these two little one’s while realizing Iceland is more than their puffin colony’s cliffs–they find Whooper Swans and a family of sheep in the middle of the street!

Would you like to know what Árni and Birta do when they see a wild reindeer, or what Árni’s parents say when they see turf houses that look like huge burrows? Come along as we explore Iceland, the farmlands, and how Iceland can grow their own fruit when the temperatures are so cold!

In this second book of the Iceland: The Puffin Explorers series, Árni and Birta meet Icelandic horses, sheep, and reindeer, and experience other natural wonders of Iceland. Fun facts are presented throughout the adventure to share interesting things about Icelandic farms and animals, like how sheep roam freely and are protected by laws if they are in the middle of the road.

Book 3

Puffins Encounter Fire & Ice

In the land where summer has twenty-four hours of sun, the dark of night begins in September with the dipping of the sun. Two puffin friends, Árni and Birta are exploring Iceland but have only hours left before dark. Meanwhile, Árni’s mother and father continue searching for them. It’s getting late and all pufflings must head out to sea when night falls.

Before Árni and Birta set off on their long four-year sea journey, an Icelandic Faery plays clever tricks on them, making their grand adventure longer than expected! Hot on their tails, Árni’s parents find the famous Blue Lagoon and a beach glistening with diamonds. Would you like to join the fun with these adventurous ones?

In this third book of the Iceland: The Puffin Explorers series, Árni and Birta discover glaciers, volcanoes, natural energy, and some of the legendary folk of Iceland. Fun facts are placed throughout the adventure to educate about Iceland’s volcanoes, waterfalls, glaciers, and much more.

Book 4


As a follow up to Árni and Birta’s adventures in the Iceland: The Puffin Explorers three-book fiction series, author RA Anderson has gathered fun and interesting facts to teach young readers about puffins, the geothermal nature island of Iceland, volcanoes, glaciers, and much more.

Illustrated with professional photographs taken by the author during several research trips to Iceland, this vibrate photo book is bound to keep young readers enchanted while they explore this beautiful, faraway place and learn about the importance of caring for our planet.


Video footage and editing by Cody M. Anderson with original music by Zane W. Anderson. Puffin Sounds by Árni!


2020 Indie Excellence Award Winner Verification

2020 Indie Excellence Award Finalist Verification